The Annual Jade Pagoda Awards

Jade Pagoda is an online group for discussion of the Doctor Who books. Since 2000, we have held annual Awards for the best (and the worst) Who or Who-related books of the year. The precise rules and awards have changed over the years (so blank squares indicate the category did not exist that year), but this page presents a summary of the results. You might also want to check out the online Doctor Who Novel Rankings.
Award 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
Best book The Turing Test Grimm Reality Camera Obscura The Cabinet of Light Of the City of the Saved... Fear Itself Erasing Sherlock Sick Building
Worst book
Escape Velocity Warmonger The Domino Effect Sometime Never... Island of Death insufficient votes
Best short story

Faction Hollywood Entry: "Samurai Film" (The Book of the War) "A Rag and a Bone" by Daniel O'Mahony (Myth Makers Presents: Essentials) "A Rose by Any
Other Name" by Jim Mortimore (Short Trips: Life Science)
"What I Did on My Christmas Holidays by Sally Sparrow" by Steven Moffat (Annual 2006) "Gone Fishing" by Ben Aaronovitch (Short Trips: Time Signature)
Best anthology

The Book of the War Myth Makers Presents: Essentials Myth Makers #14 Annual 2006 Collected Works
Best returning author Paul Leonard Lance Parkin Lloyd Rose Kate Orman Martin Day Lance Parkin Kelly Hale
Best new author Jonathan Morris Lloyd Rose Paul Ebbs Mark Chadbourn Philip Purser-Hallard Nick Wallace Steven Kitson
Best author

Philip Purser-Hallard

Best original character or concept The amnesiac Doctor Miranda in Father Time The Book of the Still Chick Peters as the narrator in Blue Box tie: Laska Darnell in The Sleep of Reason; The Clockwork Woman; the war between alternate universes in The Warlords of Utopia The Professional and other Professionals in Fear Itself The narrator of Erasing Sherlock
Best returning character or concept The Brigadier in The Shadows of Avalon The man with the rosette in The Adventuress of Henrietta Street Faction Paradox in The Book of the War The Doctor as described by others in The Cabinet of Light The City of the Saved in Of the City of the Saved... Fitz in Fear Itself Sherlock Holmes in Erasing Sherlock
Most memorable passage The Doctor building a replacement TARDIS in The Shadows of Avalon The man with the rosette meets the Doctor in The Adventuress of Henrietta Street (p 230-1) Anji rings Dave's parents in Time Zero (p16-7)

['Best' fanwank] The Doctor handing over his heart to the travelling circus in Camera Obscura

Chapter 0, the first minute and Inangela watches "The Muppets", in This Town will Never Let Us Go (p 3-4) Chapter 1 of The Sleep of Reason Valletti's homecoming in Fear Itself (p 272-274) Holmes profiles a paedophile serial killer in Erasing Sherlock (p 21-22)
Worst passage
[Most egregious fanwank] Control in Escape Velocity

tie: epilogue of Sometime Never... in which Soul becomes a familiar figure; Cat's eschatological beliefs in Companion Piece (p 47); exploding breasts in Synthespians™ (p 247) Opening of Spiral Scratch (p 1-24) insufficient nominations
Best cover
Father Time Mad Dogs and Englishmen Reckless Engineering The Warlords of Utopia Fear Itself AHistory
Lifetime achievement award The Also People Doctor Who in an Exciting Adventure with the Daleks The Dying Days Damaged Goods Dead Romance Remembrance of the Daleks Transit Love and War
Best non-fiction book Regeneration
The Dalek Survival Guide Enlightenment #118 About Time vol. 3 tie: About Time vol. 4; About Time vol. 5 About Time 1 Time and Relative Dissertations in Space: Critical Perspectives on Doctor Who
Best non-fiction author

Lawrence Miles

Best publisher

Mad Norwegian Press
Best review Robert Smith?'s review of Coldheart
Robert Smith?'s review of Instruments of Darkness John Seavey's Paul Cornell retrospective
John Seavey's review of Match of the Day insufficient nominations
Best website

Outpost Gallifrey Outpost Gallifrey Outpost Gallifrey Outpost Gallifrey Outpost Gallifrey
Best author website

Philip Purser-Hallard's Philip Purser-Hallard's Philip Purser-Hallard's
Best non-Who prose fiction
"Grass" by Lawrence Miles (in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science-Fiction, re-printed in Dead Romance 2004 ed.) Strange Boy by Paul Magrs insufficient votes To the Devil–A Diva! by Paul Magrs Swine Fever by Andrew Cartmel Never the Bride by Paul Magrs insufficient votes
Best non-Who performed work (TV, radio, audio etc.)
Randall & Hopkirk (Decd.): "Pain Killers" by Gareth Roberts The League of Gentlemen series 3, co-written/performed by Mark Gatiss The Second Coming by Russell T Davies Shameless series 1, executive producer: Matt Jones Casanova by Russell T Davies Club Sabbath, organised by Lawrence Miles, compèred by Tat Wood (1st evening), featuring Lawrence Miles (3rd evening)
Best non-Who non-fiction
Slayer (2001 revised edition) by Keith Topping The Bond Files by Andy Lane Dusted: The Ultimate Unauthorized Guide to "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", co-written by Lawrence Miles Secret Identities: An Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to "Alias" by Lance Parkin & Mark Clapham insufficient votes insufficient votes
Best author working on the TV series

Russell T Davies Steven Moffat Steven Moffat
# votes

19 19 13
returning officer Terry Henry Potts Terry Henry Potts William Salmon Henry Potts Henry Potts Henry Potts

Considering only those awards given in more than one year, the individuals who have won most:

In terms of publishers, not surprisingly the BBC wins out with 25.3 awards, followed by Mad Norwegian Press (16.3 and Best Publisher 2006), Virgin (9), the Doctor Who Information Network (4) and several others on less than 4.

Back to the Jade Pagoda FAQ

Henry Potts, last update: 13 Feb 2008